Deeper

God is calling me deeper. He is stirring up my soul. I do not know how else to put it. He is moving my soul so much recently, and I am not sure why or how or what exactly I should do.  I am absolutely content in my life right now. This flies in the face of anyone who thinks belief in God is a “crutch”. I do not want for anything in this physical world. I have everything I could possibly want or need.

There is only my longing to better understand and demonstrate the love of God to those around me. There is only my desperation and brokenness for people in darkness to know the love of God, acknowledge Him who took time to create them, and give thanks to Him who continues to give them each breath they take. There is only my desire for those who call themselves “Christians” but  unrepentantly and continuously engage in sin, to realize the serious times we are living in. To wake up and realize that they need to seriously evaluate the state of their own souls.  To read Matthew 7:17-22.

I realize fundamentalism is not popular. Literal belief in the Bible is scoffed at by the world. My friends (if they don’t already) will think I have lost my mind.  I do not care. I no longer am bound by the opinions of others. I will no longer water down what I believe in hopes of not offending them. I will no longer bite my tongue when I feel God pulling me to speak up.

I will not be afraid of being different from the world. This is what Jesus has called us to do. And the world will hate us for it. Jesus said:

“If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world, That is why the world hates you. Remember the words I spoke to you: ‘No servant is greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will persecute you also. ”

I am prepared for that. I am prepared to lose the very friends I pray for faithfully. They will not be able to hate God, and love me. God is such a part of me, that they will have to hate me too. This does not make me happy, but I can no longer suppress the Holy Spirit in hope that no debates arise or no discussions take place. Their salvation is more important than my own ego and I trust that God will lead me into conversations with them that produce fruit.

I will take God at His word. Not for my own benefit, but for the furtherance of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I cannot sit idly on the sidelines any longer fearing what people would think of me.

“For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.” -The Apostle Paul

2 Responses to “Deeper”

  1. Your blog inspires me and encourages me and convicts me. Thank you for posting.

  2. I am so humbled that God is using these words to encourage people in their walk. Thank you for sharing that with me, as it also encourages me in my walk. May God continue to bless you in your growth.

Leave a Reply

