STOP! ….Prayer time….

I was talkin to someone last night, and he posed the questions, why do we pray? does praying really change God’s will? Wont his will be done whether or not we pray for certain situations? And if thats the case, then whats the point?

soooo i decided what better way to spend my day at work, then to try to tackle that HUGE question? Honestly, id never thought about it. Praying has always been a very natural part of my life, and I never really questioned why I did it… so it was really cool to be challenged by that question.

First of all, my initial response to this was… maybe we pray more for ourselves than for God.  We do need to continue to humble ourselves in His presence,  bring to him the things we are anxious about, so He will give us His peace. (Philippians 4:9-11). Its a constant reminder that He is God, and He controls everything. Praying for me is admitting that I cant do things by myself, and I need His help. I think praying also makes you more sensitive to be able to identify when God answers those prayers. Giving us even more affirmation that God is God and nothing is too big for Him to tackle. Its part of our relationship with God. Giving Him the things that are on our hearts. And the cool thing is, is that He listens!! The thing that is difficult to do is to believe the prayers you pray, can be answered. Never doubt the power of God! In Matthew it says:

“So Jesus answered and said to them, “Assuredly, I say to you, if you have faith and do not doubt, you will not only do what was done to the fig tree, but also if you say to this mountain, ‘Be removed and be cast into the sea,’ it will be done. And whatever things you ask in prayer, believing, you will receive.”

In Mark, it says:

Therefore I say to you, whatever things you ask when you pray, believe that you receive them, and you will have them.”

Ok. So if we believe the things we are praying, then they will be heard and honored. But does this happen with every single prayer?? hm. what if your prayer doesnt match up with the word of God, or the will of God? Thats when we have to see how Jesus tells us to pray. According to Jesus, the model prayer includes ” Your kingdom come, Your will be done on Earth as it is in Heaven.” so in all prayers we should be praying for Gods will above our own.

 I view prayer and intercession as two different things.  I cant explain why, but I do. The Bible talks a lot about interceding for others as Jesus has interceded for us. Hebrews says

“Therefore He is also able to save to the uttermost those who come to God through Him, since He always lives to make intercession for them.”

It is almost instinctual to intercede for others, when the Holy Spirit is in you because thats what Jesus came here to do! In Romans it says:

“Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.  Now He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God. And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.”

So  my conclusion?

We pray to build our relationship with God. To build our faith in God. To humble ourselves before His throne and give Him our whole hearts. Thats what He wants. He wants us. Not what we do, or how much we do, he wants our very being.  And he doesnt just come in and take it, we have to be willing to give it to Him.

We intercede because its in us to do so. We are called to be like Jesus, and thats what Jesus came here to do.  I always think its cool while im praying, that sometimes I will pray for things totally off the wall. Ive prayed for rape victims, abused children, drug addicts, just… all kinds of things that I dont think about on a regular basis. I know that its the Holy Spirit leading me to intercede for these people.

Ok, well that didnt really take as long as I anticipated… but thats alright. 😛

Ive decided I need to increase my prayer life. Yeah, I talk to God all day long, but how much of that is in total reverence and awe of who He is? So after work from now on ill be in the sanctuary for a period of time.  I love Him, and want to spend time with Him.

🙂

Im excited. 

Leave a Reply

